June Challenge

I have decided that I will do something in my art journal every day in June. It doesn’t have to be a complete page every day, but I’m going to do something in my art journal every day, even if it’s just writing down quotes or gessoing pages. I don’t want my art journaling to become a chore, but I do want to keep it up once I start back to school, and the easiest way to make sure I keep it up when I have more responsibility is to go ahead and make it a habit now while I’ve got more free time.

I’ll post pictures of my favorite pages, of course, but I won’t necessarily post everything. Last night, for example, I did a journal page based on the quote, “She stood in the storm, and when the wind did not blow her way, she adjusted her sails.” But unfortunately, I tried to paint waves on my background and it turned into a blue green mess at the bottom of my page, so I painted over it. And then I tried to stencil the quote onto the page and screwed up the spacing, so I really don’t like the way it turned out at all.

Tonight, I just did a couple of pretty red backgrounds and put in postcards I bought when I went out of town a couple weeks ago and did some journaling. I have the feeling my pages will be better and more elaborate on my off days than on the days I work.

I find the response that my journal pages are getting here and on Tumblr gratifying and surprising. I’ve always liked doing art projects and things, ever since I was a kid, but I never thought that I was particularly good at any of them. I’m flattered that people seem to like my journal pages.

One thought on “June Challenge

Leave a Reply

