My Blog is Not a Book Blog and Other Blogging Thoughts

I’ve been looking for more book memes to do. I like having memes to do because they give me something to post even if I’m not feeling particularly inspired. However, I don’t consider this blog a book blog because I don’t really write book reviews. I’ve tried before, but honestly, I read too fast and too compulsively to review books. In order for me to review a book, I have to take a day or so after finishing the book to think about how I felt about it and why I felt that way. Since I cannot stand not to be currently reading something, I just can’t do that. Reacting to books is different from reviewing books. I react to books all the time, both offline and online. Reacting to books is essentially what I did when I posted about The Fault in Our Stars. I was trying to write a real review, but I loved the book so much that every time I sat down to write about it, it turned into, “I love this book and I love John Green and ASKDL;FSJAKL;DFDKLS So. Many. Emotions.” As a reaction, this fangirling is perfectly valid, but as a review, it’s not. A review has to be more carefully considered and more balanced. One has to summarize the book and point out the specific things they liked and didn’t. If I really love a book, I am apparently not capable of doing that. Also, I’ve found that it’s much easier to write a negative review than a good one. When I have multiple problems with a book (or a play, as in the case of The Vagina Monologues), I have plenty to say, but when I love something, I can’t accurately verbalize or write about why I love it. I believe it was Jane Austen who wrote, “Had I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more.” That’s the case with me.

All this is to say that I do not have a book blog. I don’t really know how to categorize this blog, honestly, but one thing is certain: although I love books more than almost anything else on earth, this blog is not a book blog.

I hope y’all have a good day, dear readers. I am off to get a snack before my science lab. (Cue groans. Science, ugh.)

 

3 thoughts on “My Blog is Not a Book Blog and Other Blogging Thoughts

  1. I think reactions to books are just as valid and wonderful as traditional “reviews” of books! I often enjoy reading bloggers’ reactions as much — if not more — than a formal review. There are many books I’m a total fangirl for, and I wind up SQUEE!-ing for them more than actually discussing their merits. And that’s totally okay!

  2. I definitely know what you’re saying – but sometimes getting giddy and writing about your obsession with a book is a review. There’s no cookie cutter way to review books, you just say what you feel – and if that changes – at least you remember what you felt in that moment. I read really compulsively as well and I’m not sure that has anything to do with whether or not you can read a book. Sometimes you don’t need stewing, sometimes you just need to be honest. : ) Hope this helps. Check out…Top Ten Tuesday – that will give you something to write about every Tuesday, just google.

Leave a Reply

