John Green, how do I love thee?

Let me count the ways.

I love you for your youtube channel, your tumblr, your commitment to decreasing world suck, and your fight against censorship. I love you because you seem like the kind of person I want to hang out with.

But mostly, I love you for The Fault in Our Stars. I love The Fault in Our Stars so much because of Augustus Waters. A boy who makes existentially fraught free throws and puts the killing thing between his teeth without allowing it to do the killing is one that is almost impossible not to love. The chemistry between Gus and Hazel Grace was magical and stole my heart, making me long for a boy like Gus. The novel was profoundly moving, making me laugh and cry, sometimes within mere sentences. I enjoyed the clever way John Green addressed conventions of the genre of books about teens with cancer and then turned them on their heads. But most of all, I loved The Fault in Our Stars because Gus and Hazel Grace are still in my head a couple of weeks after finishing the novel.

Thank you, John Green, for writing a novel that has become a part of me and creating characters I wish were real and could be my friends.

Leave a Reply

